Week 3 RSS Feeds

31 Jan

Let me start off by saying that I thought I was semi computer literate, after trying to add an RSS feed to my blog however, I discovered I need a lot more practice with my computer and internet literacy.

Secondly let me just talk about RSS feeds for a minute. I was, apparently, a Google Reader user – needless to say, I had no idea. A few years ago when I was in a blogging class I signed up for Google Analytics and a few other Google blog related tools, so I am thinking this is one of the things that I signed up for.

An RSS or really simple syndication of information that is found on blogs and the internet that I can subscribe to is a great idea. I enjoy the idea of having everything that I follow in one place. What I enjoy about it is its simplicity of everything being in the same location, however there are some down sides as well. I would assume the people who are avid RSS users don’t take into consideration the time and effort that a person put into making their blog look a certain way. Like me I think that having a blog a certain way with a certain layout and certain colours is extremely important for the visual reader – which a lot of people of the internet are. Sometimes I want to just sign in and browse with out having to deal with a lot of reading. The RSS however cuts it down to the words and removes the colour (except for pictures).

Having this be my first connection and interaction with RSS I feel that it is also important for me to share that it is actually really simple to add the RSS to your blog but because it was my first time encountering it, it took me a little bit longer. If you’re trying it for the first time, don’t let me discourage you with my previous rant.

On another note… Blogs for non for profit organizations. YAY or NAY? YAY!!
I tell you this because they are such a great way to get your information out for not a lot of money. “Blogging can dramatically transform search engine results for your organization” I know that this is extremely true through my own personal blog. What someone can do is add tags to the bottom of their post so that when someone searches for specific combinations then your blog post may appear.

Blogging and RSS go hand in hand. If a person utilizes all of the tools that the internet has to offer than the online presence can sky rocket.

Until next week
-LD

Leave a Reply

